Making poverty history…

I spent my entire weekend going through all my old things sorting things that I was going to throw out and what not, possibly the most put off chore I have been delaying for the past few months. However, four bin liners later full of clothes and other odd ends that the idea  came to me. There must be someone who would find use of all my things, some of which still actually had labels on, it seemed such a waste just to throw lazily into the bin.

So, with this  and my list of things that to do this year in mind, I decided to do my bit for charity as often as I can no matter how small it seems. With my good deed of the day in full swing, off I went with all my ‘rubbish’ to my local Oxfam so that it could be transformed into something that could in actual fact save lives. Every year the Oxfam charity raises £23million just from its store donations which goes towards helping all of the people that live in poverty. My contribution isn’t the biggest, I know it wont fix much, but just walking out of the shop and knowing that I had some sort of involvement in helping people that live in poverty to have something like clean water, or the opportunity to get an education, things that I and I’m sure many others take ridiculously for granted is a feeling of indescribable satisfaction and hope.

Im already thinking of what things I can donate again or any other things I can do to continue giving for such a good causebut iIn the meantime my main hope is to have spurred you on to rummage around for anything that you too could give to save a life!!!

GET DONATINGGGG BLOGGERS!!

 

1 thought on “Making poverty history…

Leave a comment